- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 46. Water, Air, Energy, and Environmental Conservation
- Chapter 6. Recycling and Reduction of Litter
- Section 80. Littering Prohibited.
previous: Section 70
. Litter Patrol.
next: Section 90
. Prohibited Beverage Containers; Packaging Requirements.
AS 46.06.080. Littering Prohibited.
- (a) A person may not throw, drop, deposit, discard, or otherwise dispose of litter from a vehicle or otherwise, on public
or private property in the state or in waters in the state or under state jurisdiction unless
- (1) the property is designated by a state agency or municipality as a site for the sanitary disposal of garbage or refuse,
and the person is authorized to use the site for that purpose; or
- (2) litter is placed in a litter receptacle so that the litter is prevented from being carried away or deposited by the
elements upon public or private property or water in the state or under state jurisdiction.
- (b) A vehicle may not be driven or moved on a public highway or right-of-way unless it is constructed, loaded, or covered
to prevent its load from dropping, sifting, leaking, or otherwise escaping from the vehicle. This subsection does not
apply to a vehicle used (1) to deposit salt or sand to secure traction, (2) by a public agency to clean or maintain
highways, or (3) to transport agricultural, mining, or timber products. A person who operates a vehicle from which an
object has fallen or escaped that obstructs or endangers travel upon a public highway or right-of-way shall immediately
remove the object at the person's own expense or pay the cost of removal incurred by the state or by another person.
- (c) A person who violates this section is guilty of a violation, and may be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than
$1,000. In addition, the court may order the person to gather and dispose of litter in an area and for a length of time
determined by the court.
- (d) A peace officer shall issue a citation as provided in AS 12.25.180
to a person who violates this section. If a citation is for a minor littering violation, then the person to whom the
citation is issued may, within 15 days, mail or personally deliver to the clerk of the court in which the citation is
- (1) a fine of $50; and
- (2) a copy of the citation indicating that the right to an appearance is waived and a plea of no contest is entered.
- (e) If a $50 fine has been paid under (d) of this section, then the court shall enter a judgment of conviction. Payment
of the fine is a complete satisfaction for the violation.
- (f) If a person cited under this section fails to pay the fine or to appear in court as required, the citation is
considered a summons for a failure to obey a citation under AS 12.25.230
, and the court may issue a bench warrant.
- (g) Notwithstanding other provisions of law, if a person cited for a minor littering violation under this section appears
in court and is found guilty, the penalty that is imposed for the violation may not exceed $50.
- (h) In this section "a minor littering violation" means a violation of (a) or (b) of this section involving littering
having an aggregate weight of five pounds or less.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.