Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 14. Education, Libraries, and Museums
- Chapter 48. Regulation of Postsecondary Educational Institutions
- Section 130. Complaints.
previous: Section 120
. Sanctions; Cessation of Operation.
next: Section 140
. Judicial Review.
AS 14.48.130. Complaints.
- (a) A person claiming damage or loss as a result of an act or practice by a postsecondary educational institution or its
agent, or both, which is a violation of this chapter or of the regulations adopted under this chapter may file with the
commission a complaint against the institution or against its agent or both. The complaint must set out the alleged
violation and must contain other information as may be required by the commission. A complaint may also be filed by
the commission on its own motion or the attorney general. A complainant may file with the commission as a
representative of a class of complainants.
- (b) The commission shall investigate the complaint and may attempt to effect a settlement by persuasion and conciliation.
A complaint may be considered after 30 days' written notice by registered mail to the institution or agent, or both,
giving notice of a time and place for hearing on the complaint. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with AS 44.62 (Administrative Procedure Act) by the office of administrative
hearings (AS 44.64.010
- (c) If, based on the evidence at a hearing, the commission finds that a postsecondary educational institution or its
agent, or both, has engaged in an act or practice that violates this chapter or regulations adopted under this chapter,
- (1) shall serve on the institution or agent, or both, an order requiring the institution or agent, or both, to cease and
desist from the act or practice;
- (2) may award the individual or class of individuals named in the complaint full or partial restitution for damage or loss
if the commission finds that the individual or class of individuals has suffered loss or damage as a result of the act
- (3) may impose the penalties provided for in AS 14.48.190
- (4) may assess a civil fine, not to exceed $5,000, for costs of investigating and adjudicating a matter under this
- (5) may, based on its own investigation and the evidence presented at the hearing, begin an action to revoke an
institution's authorization to operate or an agent's permit.
- (d) If the commission makes an award under (c)(2) of this section to an individual who owes principal or interest to a
lender for a loan received for the purpose of financing education provided by the institution, the institution, or
surety, if applicable, shall pay the amount of the award that does not exceed the outstanding loan balance to the
lender to be credited against the loan. Notwithstanding this subsection, the commission may, for good cause shown,
order that all of the award be paid to an individual who receives an award from the commission.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.