Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 12. Code of Criminal Procedure
- Chapter 63. Registration of Sex Offenders
- Section 20. Duration of Sex Offender or Child Kidnapper Duty to Register.
previous: Section 10
. Registration of Sex Offenders and Related Requirements.
next: Section 30
. Notification of Other Jurisdictions.
AS 12.63.020. Duration of Sex Offender or Child Kidnapper Duty to Register.
- (a) The duty of a sex offender or child kidnapper to comply with the requirements of AS 12.63.010
for each sex offense or child kidnapping
- (1) continues for the lifetime of a sex offender or child kidnapper convicted of
- (A) one aggravated sex offense; or
- (B) two or more sex offenses, two or more child kidnappings, or one sex offense and one child kidnapping; for purposes of
this section, a person convicted of indecent exposure before a person under 16 years of age under AS 11.41.460
more than two times has been convicted of two or more sex offenses;
- (2) ends 15 years following the sex offender's or child kidnapper's unconditional discharge from a conviction for a single
sex offense that is not an aggravated sex offense or for a single child kidnapping if the sex offender or child
kidnapper has supplied proof that is acceptable to the department of the unconditional discharge; the registration
period under this paragraph
- (A) is tolled for each year that a sex offender or child kidnapper
- (i) fails to comply with the requirements of this chapter;
- (ii) is incarcerated for the offense or kidnapping for which the offender or kidnapper is required to register or for any
- (B) may include the time a sex offender or child kidnapper was absent from this state if the sex offender or child
kidnapper has complied with any sex offender or child kidnapper registration requirements of the jurisdiction in which
the offender or kidnapper was located and if the sex offender or child kidnapper provides the department with proof of
the compliance while the sex offender or child kidnapper was absent from this state; and
- (C) continues for a sex offender or child kidnapper who has not supplied proof acceptable to the department of the
offender's or kidnapper's unconditional discharge for the sex offense or child kidnapping requiring registration.
- (b) The department shall adopt, by regulation, procedures to notify a sex offender or child kidnapper who, on the
registration form under AS 12.63.010, lists a
conviction for a sex offense or child kidnapping that is a violation of a former law of this state or a law of another
jurisdiction, of the duration of the offender's or kidnapper's duty under (a) of this section for that sex offense or
child kidnapping. As a part of the regulations, the department shall require the offender or kidnapper to supply proof
acceptable to the department of unconditional discharge and the date it occurred.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.