Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 12. Code of Criminal Procedure
- Chapter 55. Sentencing and Probation
- Section 39. Surcharge.
previous: Section 36
. Day Fines.
next: Section 40
. Increased Punishment For Habitual Criminal After Conviction of Petty Larceny or Misdemeanor Involving Fraud. [Repealed, Sec. 21 Ch 166 SLA 1978].
AS 12.55.039. Surcharge.
- (a) In addition to any fine or other penalty prescribed by law, a defendant who pleads guilty or nolo contendere to,
forfeits bail for, or is convicted of a
- (1) felony shall be assessed a surcharge of $100;
- (2) violation of a misdemeanor offense under AS 28.33.030
, 28.33.031, AS 28.35.030
, or 28.35.032, or a violation of a municipal
ordinance comparable to a misdemeanor offense under AS 28.33.030
, 28.33.031, AS 28.35.030, or 28.35.032 and adopted under AS 28.01.010
, shall be assessed a surcharge of $75;
- (3) misdemeanor or a violation of a municipal ordinance if a sentence of incarceration may be imposed for the misdemeanor
or ordinance violation, other than a provision identified in (2) of this subsection, shall be assessed a surcharge of
- (4) misdemeanor for which a sentence of incarceration may not be imposed, a violation or an infraction under state law, or
a violation of a municipal ordinance imposing a penalty authorized by AS 29.25.070(a) if a sentence of incarceration may not be
imposed for the ordinance violation, shall be assessed a surcharge of $10 if the fine or bail forfeiture amount for the
offense is $30 or more.
- (b) A court may not fail to impose the surcharge required under this section. The surcharge may not be waived, deferred,
or suspended. A court may allow a defendant who is unable to pay the surcharge required to be imposed under this
section to perform community work under AS 12.55.055(c) in lieu of the surcharge.
- (c) The surcharge shall be paid within 10 days of imposition or such shorter period of time as ordered by the court.
Failure to pay the surcharge is punishable as contempt of court. Proceedings to collect the surcharge may be instituted
by the state, the municipality, or by the court on its own motion.
- (d) Money collected under this section shall be deposited into the general fund and accounted for under AS 37.05.142
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.