Alaska Statutes.
Title 6. Banks and Financial Institutions
Chapter 55. Alaska Uniform Money Services Act
Section 203. Issuance of License. [Effective July 1, 2008]..
previous: Section 202. Application for License. [Effective July 1, 2008]..
next: Section 204. Renewal of License. [Effective July 1, 2008]..

AS 06.55.203. Issuance of License. [Effective July 1, 2008]..

(a) When an application for a currency exchange license is filed under AS 06.55.201 - 06.55.204, the department shall investigate the applicant's financial condition and responsibility, financial and business experience, character, and general fitness. The department may conduct an on-site investigation of the applicant, the reasonable cost of which the applicant shall pay. The department shall issue a currency exchange license to an applicant under AS 06.55.201 - 06.55.204 if the department finds that all of the following conditions have been fulfilled:

(1) the applicant has complied with AS 06.55.202 ; and

(2) the financial condition and responsibility, financial and business experience, character, and general fitness of the applicant, and the competence, experience, character, and general fitness of the executive officers, managers, directors, and persons in control of the applicant indicate that it is in the interest of the public to permit the applicant to engage in currency exchange.

(b) When an application for an original currency exchange license under AS 06.55.201 - 06.55.204 is complete, the department shall promptly notify the applicant in a record of the date on which the application was determined to be complete, and

(1) the department shall approve or deny the application within 120 days after that date; or

(2) if the application is not approved or denied within 120 days after that date,

(A) the application is approved; and

(B) the department shall issue the currency exchange license under AS 06.55.201 - 06.55.204 to take effect as of the first business day after expiration of the period.

(c) The department may for good cause extend the application period.

(d) An applicant whose application is denied by the department under AS 06.55.201 - 06.55.204 may appeal, within 30 days after receipt of the notice of the denial, from the denial and request a hearing.

All content © 2008 by Touch N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.

Note to HTML Version:

This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We hope you find this information useful.