Alaska Statutes.
Title 28. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 10. Vehicle Registration, Liens, and Title
Section 121. Vehicles of Nonresidents.
previous: Section 120. Plates. [Repealed, Sec. 7 Ch 178 SLA 1978].
next: Section 125. - 28.10.130l Historic Vehicles, Occasional Users; Plates. [Repealed, Sec. 7 Ch 178 SLA 1978].

AS 28.10.121. Vehicles of Nonresidents.

(a) A nonresident owner of a noncommercial vehicle registered outside the state is exempt from the registration provisions of this chapter for 60 days after entry into the state if the vehicle at all times when driven in this state is registered in and has displayed upon it a currently valid registration plate issued for it by another jurisdiction. However, if the person becomes gainfully employed in the state or takes action that indicates an intention to acquire residence in the state, the person shall comply with the licensing and registration provisions of this chapter within 10 days of commencement of employment or of taking action that indicates the person's intention to acquire residence. If the vehicle is a commercial vehicle, the vehicle must be registered when its commercial use begins except as provided in AS 28.10.011 , 28.10.131(c), and 28.10.152.

(b) A vehicle owned by a nonresident and of a type subject to registration under this chapter, that is leased or rented to a person having an established place of business, a residence, or employment in this state, is subject to registration under this chapter either by the owner or lessee.

(c) A vehicle under (a) of this section that is owned and driven by a full-time student pursuing a course of study beyond the high school level and upon which current, valid registration by another jurisdiction is maintained need not be registered in this state unless the student establishes residence or accepts full-time employment in the state. This exemption applies only to the extent that the jurisdiction in which the vehicle is registered grants the same exemptions and privileges to a vehicle registered in this state.

(d) It is the responsibility of the person claiming exemption under this section to provide proof of qualification for the exemption.

All content © 2008 by Touch N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.

Note to HTML Version:

This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We hope you find this information useful.