Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 28. Motor Vehicles
- Chapter 35. Offenses and Accidents
- Section 145. Overtaking and Passing School Bus.
previous: Section 140
. Unlawful Obstruction or Blocking of Traffic; Duty to Yield to Following Traffic.
next: Section 150
. Unlawful to Interfere With or Destroy Official Traffic Control Device or Highway Construction; Action By State For Damages. [Repealed, Sec. 25 Ch 144 SLA 1977].
AS 28.35.145. Overtaking and Passing School Bus.
- (a) The driver of a vehicle that approaches from any direction a school bus stopped on a highway or vehicular way or area
shall stop not less than 30 feet from the school bus before reaching it when there are in operation on the school bus
flashing red lights as required by regulation. The driver may not proceed until the school bus proceeds and the
flashing lights are no longer illuminated.
- (b) When a school bus is stopped on a highway or vehicular way or area, whether or not there are in operation on the
school bus flashing red lights as required by regulation, the driver of a vehicle shall yield the right-of-way to a
person crossing a highway, vehicular way, or area to embark on or disembark from the school bus, whether or not the
person is crossing within a marked crosswalk.
- (c) The driver of a vehicle on a highway with separate roadways is not required to stop when meeting or passing a school
bus that is on a different roadway or, if upon a controlled access highway, when a school bus is stopped off the
highway in a loading zone that is part of, or adjacent to, the controlled access highway, and pedestrians are not
permitted to cross the highway.
- (d) A driver convicted under this section is guilty of a class B misdemeanor and, in addition to other penalties as
provided by law, is subject to a mandatory assessment of six demerit points under AS 28.15.221 - 28.15.261.
- (e) A vehicle owner, or in the case of a leased vehicle a lessee, is guilty of an infraction as described in AS 28.90.010
(d) and may be punished by a fine not to exceed $100, if the vehicle owned or leased by the person is operated in
violation of this section. The owner or lessee may not be penalized if the vehicle was stolen, or the driver of the
vehicle is convicted under (d) of this section. This subsection does not apply to a lessor of a vehicle if the lessor
keeps a record of the name and address of the lessee. A violation of this subsection may not result in the loss of a
driver's license or privilege to drive and does not constitute grounds for assessment of demerit points under AS 28.15.221 - 28.15.261. This subsection does not prohibit or limit
the prosecution of a vehicle driver for violating (a) or (b) of this section.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.