Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 18. Health, Safety, and Housing
- Chapter 50. Vital Statistics Act
- Section 900. Prohibited Acts and Penalties.
previous: Section 510
. Descriptive Information Regarding Biological Parents.
next: Section 950
AS 18.50.900. Prohibited Acts and Penalties.
- (a) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction is punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000, or by
imprisonment for not more than one year, or by both, who
- (1) without lawful authority and with the intent to deceive, makes, alters, amends, or mutilates a certificate of birth or
certified copy of a certificate of birth with the intent that it may be used;
- (2) wilfully and knowingly uses or attempts to use, or furnishes to another for use, for the purpose of deception, a
certificate of birth or certified copy of a record of birth so made, altered, amended, or mutilated;
- (3) with the intention to deceive wilfully uses or attempts to use a certificate of birth or certified copy of a record of
birth knowing that the certificate or certified copy was issued upon a record that is false in whole or in part or that
relates to the birth of another person; or
- (4) wilfully and knowingly furnishes a certificate of birth or certified copy of a record of birth with the intention that
it be used by a person other than the person to whom the record of birth relates.
- (b) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction is punishable by a fine of not more than $300, or by
imprisonment for not more than three months, or by both, except when a more severe penalty is provided for in this
- (1) wilfully and knowingly makes a false statement in a report or certificate of birth required to be filed under this
chapter or regulations adopted under it, or in an application for amendment of it, or in an affidavit or paper
submitted in support of such a certificate or application, with intent to induce or secure the registration of a birth,
or the acceptance of a certificate of birth as evidence of the date and place of birth, identity, or citizenship, or
the amendment of a birth certificate for a purpose of deception; or
- (2) wilfully and knowingly falsifies, makes or alters a certificate or certified copy of a vital statistics record except
as provided in this chapter or regulations adopted under it.
- (c) A person is guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction is punishable by a fine of not more than $100, except when a
different penalty is provided for in this chapter, who
- (1) knowingly transports or accepts for transportation, interment, or other final disposition a dead body without the
required permit issued in accordance with this chapter or regulations adopted under it;
- (2) refuses to provide information, or who knowingly furnishes false information, required by this chapter or regulations
adopted under it; or
- (3) violates the provisions of this chapter or neglects or refuses to perform a duty imposed upon the person by this
chapter or the regulations adopted under it.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.