Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 14. Education, Libraries, and Museums
- Chapter 25. Teachers' Retirement
- Section 560. Legislators Who Have Been Teachers.
previous: Section 550
. Membership in Teachers' and Public Employees' Retirement Systems.
next: Section 570
. Participation by National Education Association Employees. [Repealed, Sec. 116(a) Ch 20 SLA 2007].
AS 14.25.560. Legislators Who Have Been Teachers.
- (a) A state legislator who was an active member of the defined contribution plan under other sections of AS 14.25.310 - 14.25.590 within the 12 months immediately preceding election
to office may, subject to the requirements of (b) of this section, elect to be an active member of the teachers' defined contribution
retirement plan for as long as the state legislator serves continuously as a state legislator if, within 90 days after taking the oath
- (1) the state legislator directs the employer in writing to
- (A) pay into this plan the employer contributions required for a member under AS 14.25.310 - 14.25.590; and
- (B) deduct from the state legislator's salary and pay into this plan
- (i) the employee contributions required for a member under AS 14.25.310 - 14.25.590; and
- (ii) an amount equal to the difference between the total employer and state contributions required for a member
under AS 14.25.310 - 14.25.590 and the employer contributions that would be
required under the public employees' defined contribution retirement plan (AS 39.35.700 - 39.35.990) if the legislator were covered under that plan; and
- (2) notice is given the administrator in writing.
- (b) A state legislator is not entitled to elect membership under (a) of this section if the state legislator is covered
for the same period of service under the public employees' defined contribution retirement plan (AS 39.35.700 - 39.35.990). An election of membership under (a) of this
section is retroactive to the date the state legislator took the oath of office. A state legislator may not receive membership credit
under (a) of this section for legislative service performed before the legislative session during which the state legislator elected
membership under (a) of this section. In order to continue in membership service under (a) of this section, the state legislator must
earn at least 0.3 years of membership service under other sections of AS 14.25.310 - 14.25.590 during each five-year period.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.