Alaska Statutes.
Title 11. Criminal Law
Chapter 46. Offenses Against Property
Section 280. Issuing a Bad Check.
previous: Section 270. Unlawful Possession.
next: Section 285. Fraudulent Use of An Access Device.

AS 11.46.280. Issuing a Bad Check.

(a) A person commits the crime of issuing a bad check if the person issues a check knowing that it will not be honored by the drawee.

(b) In a prosecution under this section, it is prima facie evidence that the drawer knew the check would not be honored by the drawee if

(1) payment of the check was refused by the drawee for lack of funds upon presentation within 30 days after issue, and the drawer failed to make full satisfaction of the amount due within 15 days after notice of dishonor was deposited as first class mail, addressed to the drawer at the address appearing on the dishonored check or the drawer's last known address; or

(2) the drawer had no account with the drawee at the time the check was issued.

(c) In this section,

(1) "amount due" means the face amount of the dishonored check plus all costs and protest fees assessed by the drawee;

(2) "check" means a draft, check, or similar sight order for the payment of money, but does not include a postdated check or a promissory note;

(3) a person "issues" a check when as a drawer the person delivers it or causes it to be delivered to a person who thereby acquires a right against the drawer with respect to the check; a person who draws a check with the intent that it be so delivered is considered to have issued it if the delivery occurs.

(d) Issuing a bad check is

(1) a class B felony if the face amount of the check is $25,000 or more;

(2) a class C felony if the face amount of the check is $500 or more but less than $25,000;

(3) a class A misdemeanor if the face amount of the check is $50 or more but less than $500;

(4) a class B misdemeanor if the face amount of the check is less than $50.

All content © 2008 by Touch N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.

Note to HTML Version:

This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We hope you find this information useful.