Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 8. Business and Professions
- Chapter 76. Pawnbrokers and Secondhand Dealers
- Section 40. Disposition of Unredeemed Property.
previous: Section 30
. Criminal Liability.
next: Chapter 80
. Pharmacists and Pharmacies
AS 08.76.040. Disposition of Unredeemed Property.
- (a) If property bought or received in pledge by a pawnbroker is not redeemed by the pledgor within the redemption period,
the pawnbroker shall give notice to the pledgor by mail to the pledgor's last known address that the redemption period
has expired. If the property is not redeemed within 30 days from the date of mailing of the notice, the title and
interest of the pledgor in the property vest in the pawnbroker subject to (b) of this section.
- (b) If a pawnbroker sells property bought or received in pledge and not redeemed within 30 days after the date of mailing
notice under (a) of this section, the pawnbroker shall pay the pledgor one-half of the amount that is
received for the property and that exceeds twice the maximum amount allowed under AS 06.20.330 for individual loans by pawnbrokers and loan shops to be exempt from AS 06.20. At the time a pawnbroker buys or receives property in pledge, the pawnbroker shall provide notice to the pledgor that, if the pawnbroker sells the property under this subsection, the pawnbroker will retain from the sales proceeds the amount of money allowed by this subsection..
- (c) A pawnbroker shall give notice of any money due the pledgor under (b) of this section by certified mail within 10 days
of the sale of the pledged property. If the pledgor does not respond within 90 days after the notice is mailed under
this subsection, the pawnbroker is entitled to the entire amount received by the pawnbroker for the property.
- (d) In this section "redemption period" means the period agreed to in writing by the pledgor and pawnbroker for the
holding of property by the pawnbroker without sale to a third party or, in the absence of a written agreement, 60 days.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.