Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 8. Business and Professions
- Chapter 20. Chiropractors
- Section 141. Licensure By Credentials.
previous: Section 140
. Licensure By Credentials. [Repealed, Sec. 2 Ch 93 SLA 1996].
next: Section 150
. Recording of License. [Repealed, Sec. 7 Ch 37 SLA 1986].
AS 08.20.141. Licensure By Credentials.
The board may issue a license by credentials to an applicant who pays the appropriate fee and presents satisfactory
proof that the applicant
- (1) is a graduate of a school or college of chiropractic that
- (A) is accredited by or a candidate for accreditation by the Council on Chiropractic Education or a successor accrediting
agency recognized by the board; or
- (B) if an accrediting agency under (A) of this paragraph does not exist, requires the completion of a minimum of 4,000
hours of formal education and training in order to graduate, including
- (i) 150 hours of chiropractic philosophy or principles;
- (ii) 1,200 hours of basic sciences, including anatomy, chemistry, physiology, and pathology;
- (iii) 1,400 hours of preclinical technique, including diagnosis, chiropractic technique, and x-rays; and
- (iv) 700 hours of clinical training;
- (2) has held a license in good standing to practice chiropractic in another jurisdiction for the five years preceding the
date of application; for purposes of this paragraph, "good standing" means that
- (A) no action has been reported about the applicant in the national licensee database of the Federation of Chiropractic
- (B) the applicant has not, within the five years preceding the date of application, been the subject of an unresolved
review or an adverse decision based on a complaint, investigation, review procedure, or disciplinary proceeding
undertaken by a foreign, state, territorial, local, or federal chiropractic licensing jurisdiction, chiropractic
society, or law enforcement agency that relates to criminal or fraudulent activity, chiropractic malpractice, or
negligent chiropractic care and that adversely reflects on the applicant's ability or competence to engage in the
practice of chiropractic or on the safety or well-being of patients; and
- (C) the applicant has not been convicted of a felony within the five years preceding the date of application;
- (3) has been in active licensed clinical chiropractic practice for at least three of the five years immediately preceding
the date of application;
- (4) has passed, to the satisfaction of the board, the parts of the examination of the National Board of Chiropractic
Examiners required by the board;
- (5) has passed an examination approved by the board that is designed to test the applicant's knowledge of the laws of the
state governing the practice of chiropractic and the regulations adopted under those laws; and
- (6) has completed 120 hours of formal training in physiological therapeutics or has passed, to the satisfaction of the
board, a physiological therapeutics examination of the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners required by the board.
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.