Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
(a) The department may investigate and examine the affairs, business premises, and records of a person required to be licensed under this chapter or a small mortgage lender to determine compliance with this chapter, AS 06.01, and applicable regulations adopted under AS 06.01 or this chapter. Notwithstanding AS 06.01.015 , the department may conduct an examination every 36 months. The department may conduct an examination more often if the examination is part of the review of a complaint or other information received by the department concerning the licensee or small mortgage lender.
(b) For the purposes of conducting an examination under this section, the department
(1) shall have free access to the place of business, books, accounts, safes, and vaults of the licensee or small mortgage lender to examine and make copies as necessary;
(2) may conduct the examination without prior notice to the licensee or small mortgage lender; and
(3) may examine, under oath or affirmation, all persons whose testimony the department may require to conduct the examination.
(c) For the purpose of hearings, investigations, or other proceedings under this chapter and except as otherwise provided in this chapter, the department or an officer designated by the department may administer oaths and affirmations, subpoena witnesses, compel the attendance of witnesses, take evidence, and require the production of books, papers, correspondence, memoranda, agreements, or other documents or records that the department considers relevant or material to the matter.
(d) If a person refuses to comply with a subpoena, the superior court, on application by the department, may issue to the person an order requiring the person to appear before the department to produce documentary evidence or to give evidence touching the matter under investigation or in question.
(e) The department may share information received or collected during an examination, investigation, or other proceeding with other law enforcement agencies.
(f) A person shall reimburse the department for reasonable costs incurred by the department to conduct an examination under this section. The reimbursement under this subsection may not exceed the rate of $75 an hour for the examination, plus travel costs, including a per diem allowance that does not exceed the per diem allowance for employees of the state under AS 39.20.110 .
All content © 2008 by Touch N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We hope you find this information useful.