Advertising with us can place you in front of thousands of visitors a day. Learn more!
- Alaska Statutes.
- Title 3. Agriculture and Animals
- Chapter 40. Brands and Marks
- Section 30. Recording.
previous: Section 20
. Record of Ownership.
next: Section 40
. Copy of Record; Procurement; Fee.
AS 03.40.030. Recording.
- (a) To adopt a brand or mark, a person shall forward to the commissioner of natural resources a facsimile of the brand or
mark, together with a written application, and the recording fee of $2. Upon receipt, the commissioner shall record the
brand or mark unless it is of record or conflicts or closely resembles that of some other person, in which case the
commissioner shall return the facsimile and fee to the applicant. A brand described as being on either side of the
animal may not be accepted or recorded.
- (b) The commissioner shall file all brands or marks offered for record pending examination. The commissioner shall make
an examination as promptly as possible, and if the brand or mark is accepted, ownership thereof vests from the date of
filing. The recording of the brand or mark gives the applicant ownership thereof until the next renewal period. A
renewal period occurs every five years, beginning with January 1, 1960. At least 90 days before the expiration of each
renewal period, the commissioner shall notify every owner of a recorded brand or mark of the renewal period and the
owner shall pay to the commissioner a renewal fee of $1 and furnish other information as may be required. The renewal
fee is due and payable on or before January 1 of the renewal year, and if an owner fails, refuses, or neglects to pay
the renewal fee by March 1, of the renewal year, the brand or mark is forfeited and becomes available for issuance to
All content © 2008 by Touch
N' Go/Bright Solutions, Inc.
Note to HTML Version:
This version of the Alaska Statutes is current through December, 2007. The Alaska Statutes were automatically converted to HTML from a plain text format. Every effort has been made to ensure their accuracy, but this can not be guaranteed. If it is critical that the precise terms of the Alaska Statutes be known, it is recommended that more formal sources be consulted. For statutes adopted after the effective date of these statutes, see, Alaska State Legislature
If any errors are found, please e-mail Touch N' Go systems at E-mail. We
hope you find this information useful.